Wednesday, January 23, 2008

Lauderdale Yacht Club - 2008 Boomerang Regatta

From South Florida Sun-Sentinel Outdoors Notebook - January 18, 2008

Teams from Lauderdale Yacht Club swept the top three places in the Club 420 Fleet in the Boomerang Regatta on Saturday and Sunday out of LYC. Skipper Chanel Miller had five firsts and two seconds for a total of 9 points to win the class. Adam Harris was second with 11 points and Mac Agnese was third with 26.

Luke Lawrence of Coral Reef Yacht Club won the Laser class with 9 points. Niklas Anderson of LYC was second with 25 and Colin Smith of LYC was third with 26. The top three finishers in the Laser 4.7 fleet were Patrick Arrington and Nate Rubin of Coral Reef and Audrey Wright of LYC. Ian Holtzworth of CRYC won the Laser Radial Fleet with 11 points. Zack Kelchner of LYC was second with 16 and Blake Cabassa of CRYC was third with 18.

More than 150 sailors raced in five Optimist Dinghy classes. Christopher Williford of LYC won the Blue fleet with 10 points, followed by Erik Weis of CRYC/LYC with 17 and Duncan Williford of LYC with 19. Christopher Craven of CRYC won Red fleet with 10 points. Erika Reineke of LYC was second with 14 and Caterina Cicenia of Miami Yacht Club was third with 18. Harrison Hoy of CRYC had five firsts and a second to win White fleet, Spencer Elmslie of CRYC won Green fleet and Nic Baird of St. Petersburg Yacht Club won Pink fleet.

Results are online HERE

Monday, January 7, 2008

Richmond Yacht Club - Small Boat Midwinters

After three days of a brutal winter whipping San Francisco bay with gale force winds, power outages, and trees blown down, the 83 competitors for the second installment of the Richmond Yacht Club Small Boat Midwinter Series were greeted by overcast conditions and light and variable winds.

With 10 one design classes and two open classes, the series is comprised of individual events in December, January, February and March. It includes separate race courses for junior sailors (Inside the Breakwater), multi-hulls, and centerboard classes. Conditions favored the Breakwater course where the Breakwater Open Classes, and one design classes got 6 races in. The Southhampton Courses still managed to get three races completed despite the light winds.

Top Finishers include:

El Toro Sr. (10 Boats)
  1. Gordie Nash (Richmond Yacht Club)
  2. Arthur Lange (HP Sailing Club)
  3. Michael Quinn (Richmond Yacht Club)
El Toro Jr. (3 Boats)
  1. Dane Perrott (Richmond Yacht Club
Optimist (9 boats)
  1. Lauren Cefali (RYC/SFYC)
  2. Will Cefali (RYC/SFYC)
  3. Kyle Larsen (PYSF/SYC)
Snipe (3 boats)
  1. Nabil Shahim (RYC)
Byte (6 Boats)
  1. Laurie Davis (Inverness)
  2. Gail Yando (RYC)
  3. Mary Cefali (RYC)
Wylie Wabbit (8 boats)
  1. Andrew Hamilton (RYC)
  2. Colin Moore (RYC)
  3. Tim Russell (SFYC)
Laser (22 boats)
  1. Steven Bourdow (Sequoia Yacht Club)
  2. James Vernon
  3. Mark Halman (RYC)
Finn (2 boats)
  1. Stephen Hutchison (EYC)
Flying Dutchman (6 boats)
  1. Zhanya Kirueshkin-Stepanoff (SCYC)
  2. Michael Spranger (Berkeley Yacht Club)
  3. Douglass McWilliams (Lake Washington Sailing Club)
Southampton Open Class (5 boats)
  1. Ian O'leary (BYC)
  2. David Rasmussen III (RYC)
  3. Chris Currier (LW Sailing)
Breakwater Open Class (8 boats)
  1. David Anderson
  2. Greg Paxton (RYC)
  3. James Parker (City of Oakland)
Complete results are available here. Current Series Standings are available here .

The date of the next installment of the Small Boat Midwinters is Feb. 3, 2008